Writing

Alvin has written original screenplays, screen adaptations, theatre musicals, plays, and three novels. And directed and produced many of his plays and screenplays to critical acclaim.

& Gillian (1996)

andGillian book cover


First published 1996
by Little Brown
Translated into 10 languages

Ampersand. And. The ampersand partner, the wife, the other half of a twosome. As in Jack & Jill, Darby & Joan, Romeo & Juliet. And Robin & Gillian.

While working in New York, Gillian, a girl from Selly Oak, meets Robin. Robin is not yet ready to enmesh himself in a binding alliance. But she learns to give and he learns to give; and they both learn to love. Ampersand and a name is a partner's story. & GILLIAN is Gillian's story, a story of love, marriage and misfortune.

" No trite cliché or philosophical reflection alleviates the raw emotion. A very personal stab at a taboo subject " Daily Telegraph

" Alvin Rakoff's moving novel (is an) unsparing account of bereavement mitigated by his affectionate portrayal of married life " The Times

" Alvin Rakoff has written a novel that prompted fever bidding at auction..'editors all over London were crying over their copies'.. Little Brown won the auction" Book Seller

Baldwin Street (2007)

Baldwin Street book coverAlvin's second novel is based on his childhood in Canada in a poor, pre-war market area of Toronto.

"In the tradition of James T. Farrell’s Studs Lonigan, Alvin Rakoff’s Baldwin Street is literary fiction at its best. This powerful novel presents a vivid mosaic of characters, the rich fabric of a community, and a boy’s coming-of-age on the dusty, rough-and-tumble streets of Toronto" - Amazon.

Seven Einsteins (2014)

Alvin's third and latest novel - a fast moving, entertaining, thriller - attacks the dangers of envying genius.  "Only God should play God," said the US President, "everyone else is miscast.


The Seven Einsteins book cover

"From the pen of acclaimed writer, director and producer Alvin Rakoff — credited with starting the careers of actors Sir Sean Connery and Alan Rickman — comes a gripping new thriller about a secret plot to clone not one but seven Albert Einsteins" Lovereading

Current Work

 'AN ACT OF LOVE'

The original screenplay 'An Act  Of Love' by Alvin Rakoff was purchased by Shooting Script Films Ltd. The film is based on a true story set in Belgium during World War 2.

 

'KRUMNAGEL' 

Based on the novel by Peter Ustinov dealing with gun laws in America. Screenplay completed.

ORIGINAL SCREEN PLAYS

A FLIGHT OF FANCY (BBC TV) 1953
starring Jerry Desmond

THUNDER IN THE REALM (BBC TV) 1955
An RAF documentary

THE CURSE OF THE MUMMY'S TOMB (Hammer Films) 1963
under pseudonym Henry Younger

CHURCHILL'S PEOPLE (BBC TV) 1974 
starring Jeremy Irons 

ROOMS (THAMES TELEVISION) 1974

SAY HELLO TO YESTERDAY (CINERAMA) 1978
starring Jean Simmons, Leonard Whiting 

AN ACT OF LOVE (SHOOTING SCRIPT FILMS) 2015

KRUMNAGEL (2017)

 

 

 Screen Adaptations

THE TROUBLED AIR (BBC TV) 1953
An adaptation of the Irwin Shaw book

THE EMPEROR JONES by Eugene O'Neill (BBC TV) 1953

WAITING FOR GILLIAN (BBC TV) 1954

EPITAPH by Leo Lehman  (BBC TV) 1956

OUR TOWN by Thornton Wilder (BBC TV) 1957

CAINE MUTINY COURT MARTIAL by Herman Wouk (BBC TV) 1958

SUMMER AND SMOKE by Tennessee Williams (BBC TV) 1971 starring Lee Remick

HARLEQUINADE by Terence Rattigan (Anglia TV) 1973 starring Edith Evans, Denholm Elliott, Joyce Redman

CITY ON FIRE  (Astral Films) 1978
starring Ava Gardner, Henry Fonda

 

A complete list of credits can be found here  

PLAYS

TOO MARVELOUS FOR WORDS Musical about lyricist Johnny Mercer

THE BIG SLEEP Stage adaptation of Raymond Chandler's novel